In order to obtain high-quality software products it is essential to adopt the most adequate key practices during the development process.

These practices are present in different formats for both traditional and agile methodologies.

Our commitment to maintaining the continuous improvement of our development process demands constant dynamism in choosing its components.

Main milestones in Hexacta’s Methodology

Hexacta has always been distinguished for its continuous search of new ways to improve its development process. A few months after founded, Hexacta had its first full-time resource completely dedicated to these subjects, and by 2001 Hexacta started to think about using the CMM® model to guide its improvement efforts.


  • Hexacta achieved CMM® Level 3 in 2003 and CMM® Level 4 in 2005. This last achievement, was a really important milestone for the company since it meant being considered a “high maturity” level company, in which quantitative process management criteria is applied, such as statistical process control.

  • In 2008 Hexacta also achieved the ISO 9000 certification, using the ISO 9000-3 guide, which details how to interpret the norm for software development companies. The advantage of this norm is that it has a broader vision of the company processes beyond the software development process.

  • Hexacta continued its efforts to adapt its processes to the CMMI® model and in 2009 Hexacta was assessed CMMI® Level 3.

  • In July of 2015 Hexacta’s renews its ISO 9001:2008 certification and on June of 2018 did the upgrade to ISO 9001:2015. 

These are some of the company´s methodology milestones:


JUN – Hexacta achieves ISO 9001:2015 certification.


AUG – Hexacta revalidates its ISO 9001:2008 certification.


JUL – Hexacta revalidates its ISO 9001:2008 certification.


JUL – Hexacta renews its ISO 9001:2008 certification.


FEB – Hexacta starts providing Scrum training to its clients.


SEPT – Hexacta is recognized by the Scrum Alliance as a Registered Education Provider.


AUG – Hexacta is assessed at CMMI® Level 3.


DEC – Hexacta achieves ISO 9001:2008 certification.
APR – Hexacta decides to review its processes through the CMMI® model and plans to undergo a SCAMPI type evaluation during 2009.


MAR – Hexacta uses and tailors agile methods as its standard development methodology.


NOV – Hexacta is evaluated as CMM® Level 4 organization.
NOV – Hexacta achieves 4 stars in the Microsoft Quality and Competitiveness Program.
SEPT – Motorola staff leads an informal assessment.
MAR – A new revision of the processes is made using new tools.


MAR – The metrics plan and methodology are revised, to make them more iterative and manage larger projects.
JAN – Hexacta defines its goals and next steps towards CMM® Level 4 Process Improvement.


OCT – Hexacta is evaluated as a CMM® Level 3 organization.
AUG – Mini-assessment leaded by Motorola staff.
FEB – The first project that followed all the CMM® Level 3 processes begins.


SEPT – Hexacta finishes the development of all processes, templates, courses and tools corresponding to CMM® Level 3.
FEB – Hexacta officially decides to adopt CMM®, being its initial objective to achieve CMM® Level 3.


OCT – First software internal tools (Extranet, Bug tracking, etc).
JAN – First outsourced project.


SEPT – E-Potecario project is finished, “trial run” for the first Hexacta templates and processes.
MAY – Use of CMM® as a guide. First templates and standards are created.
APR – Hexacta creates the Methodology area.


DEC – Hexacta is created.